The Section 5 Fall Cheerleading Championships took place on Saturday at Gordon Fieldhouse on the campus of Rochester Institute of Technology, and once again the competition was fierce and spirited.
In Class AA, the squad from Penfield proved to be head-and-shoulders above the rest, amassing a total of 307.8 points — more than 10 points higher than any other team in any classification on the day. The Patriots were followed by Fairport (293.5 points), Webster Thomas (283.9), Rush-Henrietta (281.8), Pittsford (265.2), Hilton (262.8), Gates-Chili (260.5), and Webster Schroeder (259.8).
“I think that repeating was so much more difficult than the first win, so the girls had to go out there and they just had to fight to the end to defend the title that they so deserved last year,” Penfield coach Carolyn Valenti said. “They did it again this year and I’m so very proud of them!”
Gates Chili coach Jennifer Christensen was named the Class AA Coach of the Year.
In Class A, Spencerport retained its claim as the best in Section 5. The Rangers finished in first place with 297.2 points — the second highest total of the day — followed by Churchville-Chili (297.4) and Greece Arcadia (280.4) rounding out the top three. The rest of Class A was: Victor (277.6), Greece Athena (273.7), Eastridge (257.8), Irondequoit (246.6), Brighton (242.9), Greece Olympia (241), Brockport (240.3), Canandaigua (225.4), and Wilson (222.7).
Arcadia’s Stacey Pike was named the Class A Coach of the Year.
In Class B, Livonia took the top spot with 276.6 points, followed by Geneva (271), Midlakes (270.1), Honeoye Falls-Lima (268.4), Wayne (256.3), Palmyra-Macedon (254.5), Aquinas (245.4), Newark (228.7), and Batavia (220). Laura Hovey of Midlakes was named the Class B Coach of the Year.
In Class C, it was Hornell in first with 279.4 points, followed by Dansville, LeRoy, Holley, Attica, Marcus Whitman, Wellsville, Bath and Mynderse. Regina Gambino of Hornell was named Coach of the Year.
In Class D, Avon edged East Rochester in the closest of finishes on the day. Avon finished with 277.4 points, just .6 better than the Bombers with 276.8. Perry was close behind in third with 275.6, followed by Red Jacket (263.2), Pembroke (246.2), Warsaw (234.7), Dundee (227.6), Elba/Byron-Bergen (227.6), Geneseo (216.2), Letchworth (212.4), Clyde-Savannah (197.4), Oakfield-Alabama (189.7), Lyons (185.3), and Alexander (174).
Nancy Saxton Leadership Award winners: Class AA - Hannah Owens (Penfield); Class A - Cassidy Nau-Hix (Spencerport); Class B - Sarah Howard (Livonia); Class C - Anthony Cartella (Hornell); Class D - Gina Ceneviva (Avon).