Five local students received academic honors from Binghamton University. The following Harpur College of Arts and Science students were named to the spring 2013 dean's list: Nicolette M. Clark of Newark, Nathan Holahanof Marion, Kailee N. Kulik of Walworth, Taylor John Kulik of Walworth and Julianna C. Vecchiotti of Macedon.
The followings local students will attend Alfred State for the fall 2013 semester. Alton: Anthony Hines; Clyde: Kaitlyn Abbey, Brennan Bastedo, Zachary Bogart, Kyle De Lisio, Chelsea Ferguson; Lyons: Aubrey Baker; Macedon: Kyle Eisenschmid, Travis Froio, Randy Hess; Marion: Jamie Franks, Ian Gillens, Audrey Heckman, Joeseph Titus, Stephen Wemesfelder; North Rose: Wesley Hayes, Victoria Hubright; Ontario: Jacob Gauger, Benjamin Lang, Eric Monahan; Palmyra: Ellen Colucci; Red Creek: Caleb Gregg; Walworth: Seth Ambroz, Austin Reiber, Jacob Wilder; Williamson: Zach Buckler, Adam Johnson, William Remis, Dylan Whitcomb; Wolcott: Kendra Cahoon, Garrett La Valley.
Jennifer Mantelli of Williamson was named to Bob Jones University's University Singers, BJU's largest choral organization. Mantelli is a freshman majoring in piano pedagogy. All students at BJU are invited to audition and are placed in a choral group according to their classification and abilities. Singers are re-auditioned periodically to determine proper placement.
Dakota Deyo of Savannah will attend SUNY Adirondack for the fall 2013 semester.
Finger Lakes Community College recognized dozens of student scholarship winners and their benefactors during the 29th Annual Constellation Brands Scholarship Dinner on Sept. 17. Over 100 students received a total of $102,670 in private scholarships this year through the FLCC Foundation, a private not-for-profit that supports college activities. Local students include: Morgan Pentycofe of Lyons, Bowen Family Scholarship; Keegan Froehler of Macedon, Garlock Sealing Technologies Scholarship; Kristen Tilly of Macedon, AVI Fresh Inc. Hospitality Scholarship; Kaitlyn DiazCruz of Newark, Mr. and Mrs. Elwood A. Garner Memorial Scholarship; Stacey Newville of Newark, Ann Hamilton Memorial Scholarship; Angeline VanHalle of Newark, Marilyn D. Hurlbutt Nursing Award; Scott Aman of Ontario, Fraley Family Award; Lyndsy Chynoweth of Palmyra, Massage Therapy Scholarship; Kelsey Hamilton of Palmyra, Dr. Rebecca Burgess Memorial Scholarship; Darnell Jordan of Sodus, Dr. A. John Walker Chorale Music Award; and Emily Stritzel of Williamson, CCFL Storefront Pioneers Scholarship.
Mackenzie Sturtz of Marion received the Red and White Scholarship through the Scholarship for Excellence program at Youngstown State University. Sturtz is majoring in studio art, graphic and interactive design option.
Sarah Lange, a senior at Mercyhurst University, was named to the dean's list for the 2012-2013 academic year. Lange, a native of Ontario, is majoring in athletic training/sports medicine. To qualify for the dean's list, computed annually after summer term, students must complete of a minimum of 24 credits with a cumulative index of at least 3.6 out of a possible 4.0.
The SUNY Potsdam Epsilon Upsilon chapter of Kappa Delta Pi, the international honor society for education, inducted Christina Wahl of Sodus and Edmund Barrington of Macedon. Wahl is studying mathematics, seventh through 12th grade education, and Barrington is a Master of Science in Education, literacy major, student.
SUNY Potsdam awarded scholarships, grants and awards to local students, including Kristy Allen of Macedon, geology major, Mt. Emmons Scholarship; Allyson Blazey of Palmyra, politics major, SUNY Potsdam Freshman Scholarship; David Cervantes-Nava of Sodus, mathematics bachelor's/master's student, Rebecca R. Pratt Arts and Sciences Scholarship and the Charlie Smith Math Scholarship; Eric Diamond of Newark, psychology major, SUNY Potsdam Freshman Scholarship; Elise Gage of Clifton Springs, music education major, Watkins Fund Scholarship; Neil Grayson of Marion, literature/writing major, Watkins Fund Scholarship; Sophie Gregg of Wolcott, geology major, Jessie J. McNall Scholarship; Robert Jarvis of Palmyra, biology major, SUNY Potsdam Freshman Scholarship; James Kersey of Williamson, mathematics major, SUNY Potsdam Freshman Scholarship; Danielle Munding of Ontario, business administration major, SUNY Potsdam Freshman Scholarship; Erika Olsowske of Seneca Falls, literacy master's student, Peg Cullen Scholarship and SUNY Potsdam Graduate Scholarship; Charles Robinson of Marion, biology major, SUNY Potsdam Freshman Scholarship; Kyle Robinson of Williamson, biology major, SUNY Potsdam Freshman Scholarship; Megan Skinkle of Palmyra, anthropology major, SUNY Potsdam Freshman Scholarship; Christina Wahl of Sodus, mathematics bachelor's/master's student, SUNY Potsdam Freshman Scholarship; Paige Williams of Newark, music education major, SUNY Potsdam Freshman Scholarship; Sarah Wipf of Palmyra, liberal arts major, SUNY Potsdam Freshman Scholarship; and Emily Wolfe of Macedon, chemistry major, SUNY Potsdam Transfer Scholarship.
Celia Freida, a student at James A. Beneway High School, was named a Commended Student in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program. Although they do not continue in the 2014 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who took the 2012 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). Approximately 34,000 students received the honor.
Local Finger Lakes Community College students were inducted into the Alpha Beta Gamma international business honor society Oct. 18. Local students to be inducted into the Alpha Beta Gamma honor society include: Leona Billett, Ontario; Caylee Hanson, Sodus; Nathan R. Hoover, Sodus; Mirelis Lopez-Rosado, Newark; Mary Jean Pudlowski, Newark; Derek James Short, Newark; and Laurie Swanson, Ontario. To be eligible for the honor society, students must earn at least a 3.5 grade point average while enrolled in a two-year business or computer science curriculum.
Devin G. Robson of Macedon joined the class of 2017 at St. Lawrence University in Canton. Robson graduated from Palmyra-Macedon High School.
The local Nazareth College chapter of Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society inducted two students. Students include Brandi Caton of Palmyra and Rebeccah Klejment of Williamson.
Nicolette M. Clark of Newark graduated from the Harpur College of Arts and Sciences at Binghamton University. Clark received her Bachelor of Arts in biological sciences.