Wayne Post
  • Mayor slights trustee in appointments

    • email print
  • NEWARK — When appointments were assigned to village trustees for specific duties for the coming year, one trustee was nearly missing from the list.
    “This is political reality,” Trustee John Zornow said of the appointment list that has assigned him only one duty — the Wayne County Cable Commission.
    Zornow said the cable commission is in the middle of negotiations, so it was logical for him to be assigned to continue his role on the commission.
    Mayor Peter Blandino said he makes up the appointment list every year in December, just in time for the Village Board’s organization meeting. The list designates board members to such positions as fire commissioner, Alex Eligh Community Center liaison, police liaison, cemetery liaison and library liaison, to name a few. Of the 20 appointments assigned to trustees, Zornow has only the cable commission. An average year usually has him on five assignments, he said. Last year he was assigned Newark Housing Authority Liaison, now a duty of Trustee Helen Blandino, the mayor’s wife; Planning and Zoning Board liaison, now assigned to Trustee Kurt Werts; and Records Management Committee and Loan Review Committee, now both assigned to Village Clerk Steve Murawski.
    Among the appointments, Trustee Jonathan Taylor was assigned fire commissioner and police liaison, Trustee Helen Blandino was assigned ambulance and library liaison, and Werts was named deputy mayor.
    Blandino said the list is approved by the board at the organizational meeting, which passed 4-0 during the Dec. 17 meeting. Zornow abstained from the vote.
    “I was disappointed in the mayor's actions, but decided to take the high road and not make a big deal of it,” Zornow said of his decision to abstain.
    Blandino said his decisions when making appointments this year were made in the best interests of the village.
    “That’s the way I felt the appointments should be made for the village,” he said.
    Zornow said he doesn’t intend to allow the perceived slight to stop him from doing his job as a village representative.
    “I was elected by the people and intend to continue to communicate with residents and forward their opinions and requests to the board,” he said.
    The full list of appointments is below:
    Village of Newark – 2014 Appointments List (all for 1 year unless noted)
    • Peter Blandino – Budget Officer
    Budget Oversight Committee
    Personnel Officer
    DPW, Water and Waste-Water Operations
    Information Technology Committee
    Village Spokesperson
    Audit Committee
    • John Zornow - Wayne County Cable Commission
    • Jonathan Taylor - Fire Commissioner
    Police Liaison
    Village Justice Liaison
    Personnel Officer
    Information Technology Committee
    Audit Committee
    • Helen Blandino- Ambulance Liaison
    Page 2 of 2 - Canal Port and Parks Liaison
    Information Technology Committee
    Cemetery Liaison
    Library Liaison
    Newark Housing Authority Liaison
    • Kurt Werts - Deputy Mayor
    Economic Development Liaison
    Alex Eligh Community Center Liaison
    Loan Review Committee
    Personnel Officer
    Planning and Zoning Board Liaison
    Audit Committee
    • Steve Murawski - Budget Oversight Committee
    Loan Review Committee
    Revolving Loan Commissioner
    Information Technology Committee
    Tax Collector
    Records Management Officer
    Records Management Committee
    Information Technology Committee
    Minority and Women’s Business Equal Employment Opportunity Program officer
    • Mark Peake - Code Enforcement Officer
    Economic Development Facilitator
    Loan Review Committee
    • Dennis Tellier - Veterans Affairs Commissioner
    • Arthur Williams - Village Attorney
    Ethics Committee Chairperson
    Fair Housing Officer
    Loan Review Committee
    • Michael Calarco - Village Prosecutor
    • William Schusler - Acting Justice
    • Ellie Palermo - Deputy Clerk-Treasurer
    • Robin Bremer- Deputy Clerk for Code Enforcement
    Records Management Committee
    • Noreen Stafford - Deputy Clerk for Water and Sewer Operations
    • Lynette Morrison - Deputy Clerk for Disbursements
    • Sharon VerHeecke - Deputy Tax Collector
    • Chris Davis - Historian
    • Gary VerStraete - Newark Police Department Fire Investigator
    • Pam Heald (Reliant FCU) – Loan Review Committee
    • Jarrod Crawford (LNB) – Loan Review Committee
    • Zoning and Planning Boards for 5 years
    Jim McBride - Planning Board 5 years
    Norm VanDemortel - Zoning Board 5 years
    Planning Board/Zoning Board Alternates Jerry Wage
    Planning Board Alternate Edward DeWolf, Jr.
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar