NEWARK — Eight Newark High School Winter teams have qualified for scholar athlete team status.
The recognition is given by the New York State Public High School Athletic Association to athletic teams thatcollectively achieve averages of 90 or better.
"We are extremely proud of all our Scholar Athlete award winners, especially our teams that received New York State Scholar Athlete recognition,” said Athletic Director Nicholas Amatulli.
The teams that were recognized, their coaches and their averages follow:
• Boys Junior Varsity Basketball, coached by Henry Kuperus with a grade point average of 92.146. Team members include: Nathaniel Beard, Benjamin Cowles, Casey Lead, Anthony Mashewske, Matthew Roelands, Jose Santell and Brian Sharp.
• Boys Varsity Basketball, coached by Robert Havrilla with a grade point average of 90.339. Team members include: Keith Bremer, Tyler Collins, Mitchell DeWolf, Paul Dingman, Jaymee Rosser, Conor Tickner and Micah Wright.
• Girls Junior Varsity Basketball, coached by William Kirnie with a grade point average of 93.767. Team members include: Alexa Cornwell, Amanda Hutteman, Shaniah Jones, Mikayla Otero, Carly Shear, Ladonia Smith and Katherine Thoms.
• Girls Varsity Basketball coached by Justin Fladd with a grade point average of 95.456. Team members include: Nicole Collins, Emily Hauf, Carly Henkel, Kenna Lauer, Sarah Sharp, Jennifer Shields and Jessica Shields
•Girls Varsity Bowling, coached by Doug Kent with a grade point average of 92.240. Team members include: Mary Acevedo, Maria DeRenzo, Rebecca Governor, Michelle Magee, Alexis Rowe, Jenna Taylor and Ashley Watrous.
• Boys Varsity Swimming, coached by Rick Nichols with a grade point average of 91.262. Team members include: Tyler Allen, Dylan Bianchi, Stuart Blodgett, JonathanColeman, Nicholas Greco, Ryan Kreuser, Anthony Mulberry, Kyle Power, Jarrod Roelands, Alex Taylor and Joshua Wilck.
• Boys Varisty Indoor Track, coached by Karen Cline with a grade point average of 93.468. Team members include: Miles Anglin, Forrest Blondell, Jackson Correia, Brandon Custer, Thomas Jensen, Jovany Jiminez, Alessandro Mack, Robert McGriff, Zechariah Nower, Bryan VanHall, Zachary VanKoevering and Joseph Verkey.
• Girls Varsity Indoor Track, coached by Karen Cline with a grade point average of 94.428. Team members include: Ashley Appell, Jillian Blodgett, Grace Blondell, Karissa Bush, Nichole Caralla, Evelyn Childs, Lauren Collins, Samantha Compton, Rosemarie DeRenzo, Dana Eaton, Alanna Greco, Sarah Howell, Leah Hoyt, Olivia Lewis, Kaitlyn Lockwood and Fany Romano.