Rochester Broadway Theatre League send two high school students to compete in the ninth annual National High School Musical Theater Awards on June 26 at Minskoff Theatre in New York City.
The Jimmy Award recognizes individual artistry in vocal, dance and acting performances by high school students. To participate, professional theaters must agree to sponsor two student representatives from their local winners in the leading actor and leading actress categories.
RBTL held its 19th annual Stars of Tomorrow ceremony in early May; 40 leading actor and actress winners competed to represent Rochester at NHSMTA.
Wayne County students included Reese Holahan, of Marion High School; Leah Curran, Sammi Datthyn, Evan Jackson and Danny Mares, of Sodus Central School; Brianna Gerhardt, of Wayne Central High School; and Avery Carlson, of Williamson High School.
Each student prepared three vocal selections that were performed in three rounds of cuts. Shelby Ennis, of Churchville Chili High School; and Jack D’Angelo, of Warsaw Middle/High School, were selected to attend the national competition.
Two grand-prize winners will be selected by a panel of experts after five days of musical theater rehearsals, master classes, private coaching and interviews with theater professionals at NHSMTA. Participants will be eligible for college scholarships, professional internships, career coaching and opportunities for auditions.
For information, visit