United Way of Wayne County recently held its annual meeting at Newark-Wayne Community Hospital to elect five local professionals to its board of directors for their first term in 2017-20.
The newly elected board directors are Luke DeFisher, of DeFisher Fruit Farms and Lyons National Bank; Tom Liseno, of Wayne Cooperative Insurance Co; Leslie Ohmann, of Newark Pilots; Hannah Smith, of Rochester Regional Health System; and Alexa Wessie, of Reliant Community Federal Credit Union.
Phil McCann was recognized for his commitment and leadership to United Way while serving as board president in 2015-17. The board thanked Trisha Koczent for serving as board vice president for the past two years, and congratulated her on her new role as board president.
John Triou was recognized for completing his two-year term as board treasurer. One current director was newly elected to the executive committee.
New executive committee officers are John Gingerich, board secretary; McCann, board treasurer, of Lyons National Bank; Koczent, board president, of Newark-Wayne Community Hospital; and Triou, board VP, of Exelon.
Gingerich, of Wolcott, renewed his seat on the board for a second term in 2017-20.
“United Way’s board of directors is filled with dedicated people who are passionate about helping our community,” McCann said. “In particular, United Way has benefited from the tremendous leadership of our board members. They have given many hours to help United Way continuously improve and grow. On behalf of the board of directors, I want to give a heartfelt thank you to all of them.”
United Way of Wayne County provides funding to 24 community fund programs through 17 health and human service agencies. Hundreds of additional donor-designated agencies are able to provide services, thanks to donors who give through United Way.