Cayuga and Monroe counties recently were added to the presidential declaration for public assistance resulting from damages caused by flooding on May 2-Aug. 6, 2017.
Private, nonprofit organizations that provide noncritical services in Cayuga, Jefferson, Monroe, Niagara, Orleans, Oswego, St. Lawrence and Wayne counties are eligible to apply. Eligible organizations include food kitchens, homeless shelters, museums, libraries, community centers, schools and colleges.
Although the deadline to apply for a disaster loan for physical damages was Jan. 16, PNPs in the added counties can submit an application after the deadline with an explanation that they previously were not aware of their eligibility for the U.S. Small Business Administration disaster loan program due to their county being added after the deadline.
SBA offers low-interest disaster loans to PNP organizations for physical losses up to its loan limits. Approved loans can be increased by up to 20 percent of physical damages, as verified by SBA for protective measures to lessen similar future damages. Economic injury disaster loans are available for PNPs for unmet working capital needs, and are available regardless of whether the organization suffered any physical property damage.
Visit to use the electronic loan application.
Call (800) 877-8339 or visit for information. Visit to download a loan application.
Completed applications should be mailed to U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, Texas, 76155.
The filing deadline to return applications for physical property damage expired on Jan. 16. The deadline to return economic injury applications is Aug. 14.