Students from the Finger Lakes region are among those who won scholarships from New York Farm Bureau.

Students from Farmington and Henrietta are among those awarded scholarships from New York Farm Bureau. Clara Benham of Henrietta is a senior at Honeoye Falls-Lima High School. After graduation she will attend Morrisville State to major in animal science. Elizabeth Maslyn of Farmington attends Manchester-Shortsville High School. She plans to pursue a degree in agricultural science at a New York college or university.

The 2018 New York Farm Bureau Agricultural Youth Scholarship gives winning students recognition and students compete for one of three statewide scholarships. Students must have a family Farm Bureau membership or a student Farm Bureau membership in order to qualify. A panel of judges selected winners based on their essay submissions, as well as their applications, which include their community and agricultural engagement.

The first place winner is Laura Littrell of St. Johnsville, Montgomery County, who will receive a $1,500 scholarship. She plans to attend college at SUNY Cobleskill where she will study agricultural business and plans a career in the dairy industry.

The second place winner is KristiAnn Frank from Vernon, Oneida County, who will receive a $1,200 scholarship. She plans to continue her education at either SUNY Cobleskill or Morrisville State majoring in agricultural business. Long term, she plans to earn a master’s degree in agricultural education.

The third place winner receiving a $1,000 scholarship is Kathryn Bosley of Franklin County. She plans to have a career in agriculture and will attend either SUNY Cobleskill or Cornell in the fall majoring in animal science.

Five additional winners came from other Farm Bureau districts outside the Finger Lakes region.