The Women’s Council, a Greater Rochester Chamber of Commerce affiliate, recently announced its 20 finalists for the 19th annual Young Women of Distinction Award.
The scholarship program supports the council’s belief that young women with promise today will become tomorrow’s leaders.
Modeled after the Athena Award, the program is designed to discover high school seniors who display outstanding leadership, academic excellence and involvement in the nine-county Rochester and Finger Lakes region.
Four top recipients — one each from Rochester City School District, Monroe County east, Monroe County west and the eight regional surrounding counties — receive a $2,500 scholarship and an opportunity for a paid internship at an area company.
The 2018 Young Women of Distinction Award finalists are Cassidy Graham, of Alexander; Lauren Leone, of Batavia; Autumn Jeffery, of Caledonia Mumford; Safiya Gazali, of East; Jasmine Thomas, of Gates Chili; Juliana Tracey, of Greece Athena; Kaori-Mei Stephens, of The Harley School; Jaelyn Morgan, of Marion; Grace Fjermedal, Mercy; Maeya Yeatman, of Naples; Triniti Boykin, of North Rose-Wolcott; Olivia Keller, of Palmyra-Macedon; Sarah Grace Hancock and Joanna Jin, of Penfield; Morgan Milhollen, of Perry; Allison Wilson, of Rush-Henrietta; Lindsay Gallagher, of Spencerport; Kiara Kolaczyk, of Victor; and Arielle Mahoney and Sarah Oeun, of Young Women’s College Prep.
The Women’s Council will recognize the finalists at a celebration from 6:30 to 9 p.m. on May 7 at Ballroom 384 at City Grill, 384 East Ave., Rochester.
Call (585) 256-4619, email or visit for information.