The trio are among 20 finalists for the Young Women of Distinction Award

ROCHESTER — Finalists for the 19th annual Young Women of Distinction Award include high school seniors Maeya Yeatman of Naples; Olivia Keller of Palmyra-Macedon; and Kiara Kolaczyk of Victor.

They are among 20 finalists in the scholarship program designed to discover high school seniors who have displayed outstanding leadership, academic excellence and involvement in the nine-county Finger Lakes region.

Four of the 20 will be selected to receive a $2,500 scholarship and an opportunity for an internship at an area company. The remaining 16 finalists are also awarded an opportunity to interview for internships. All 20 finalists will receive gifts from community sponsors.

Yeatman, Keller and Kolaczyk are eligible for the regional award, in a pool that includes students from Monroe County and the eight counties surrounding it.

They remaining finalists are:

Safiya Gazali, East

Arielle Mahoney and Sarah Oeun, Young Women's College Prep

Autumn Jeffery, Caledonia-Mumford

Morgan Milhollen, Perry

Triniti Boykin, North Rose-Wolcott

Lauren Leone, Batavia

Jaelyn Morgan, Marion

Cassidy Graham, Alexander

Kaori-Mei Stephens, Harley

Grace Fjermedal, Mercy

Sarah Grace Hancock and Joanna Jin, Penfield

Allison Wilson, Rush-Henrietta

Jasmine Thomas, Gates-Chili

Juliana Tracey, Greece Athena

Lindsay Gallagher, Spencerport

The program, modeled after the ATHENA Award, is sponsored by the Women's Council, a Greater Rochester Chamber of Commerce affiliate, supporting its belief that young women with promise today will become tomorrow's leaders.

The Women's Council will recognize the finalists at a celebration from 6:30 to 9 p.m. Monday, May 7 at Ballroom 384 at City Grill, 384 East Ave., Rochester.

The Young Women of Distinction Award, brought to Rochester in 2000, is given out annually each spring in an effort to nuture Rochester's next generation of women leaders.