Two Newark High School winter teams recently qualified for scholar athlete team status.
The recognition is given by the New York State Public High School Athletic Association to varsity athletic teams that collectively achieve averages of 90 or better.
“Interscholastic athletics is, first and foremost, an academic program that is an integral part of a high quality educational experience,” said Chris Corey, director of health, physical education and athletics for Newark Central School District. “We are proud of the work our athletes put in the classroom to achieve the honor of being scholar athletes. We are especially proud of our varsity girls bowling and varsity girls indoor track teams, who achieved the very high standard of being named a New York state scholar athlete team.”
Girls varsity bowling, coached by Mark Rowe, earned a 93.252 GPA. Team members include Emily Lang, Natalie Kent, Sierra Powers, Rebecca Spry and Ashley Watrous.
Girls varsity indoor track, coached by Joseph Kopnitsky, earned a 92.438 GPA. Team members include Kelsie Bushart, Kailyn Crawford, Brianna Demitry, Liljen Draasch, Nicole Garritano, Anna Howell, Cordelia Lalone, Elizabeth Lang, Hannah Mantz, Bailey McCormick, Emma Robbins, Kayleigh Schmerhorn, Lauren Smith, Libby Smith, Lillie Tang, Elana Verbridge-Day, Amanda Williams and Kayla Williams.
NCSD recognized the junior varsity girls basketball team, coached by William Kirnie, as a scholar athlete team for earning a 92 GPA. Team members include Kalyna Bryant, Faythe Burns, Clare Camblin, Michaela Colacino, Alycia Divelbliss, Hannah Fisher and Grace Gajan.
The following athletes earned individual state scholar athlete pins after earning a minimum 90 GPA.
Varsity boys basketball: Alejandro Caraballo, Parker Casselman, Logan Moynihan and Mason VanDeMortel.
Varsity girls basketball: Jasmine Bueso, Caitlyn Chopan, Trinity Hernandez and Ladonia Smith.
Varsity boys bowling: Everett Cole and Preston Precourt.
Varsity boys indoor track: Douglas Carlson, Enrique Castillo, Liam Childs, Jayden Cintron, Kyle French, Dillon VanDemortel and William VanDusen.
Varsity boys swimming: Brendan Briggs, Broden Haltiner, Timothy Huber, Stephen Hughes, Michael Hutteman and Zachary Rodrick.
Varsity boys wrestling: Luis Ortiz Jr., Connor Simizon and Colin Steiner.
NCSD recognized junior varsity boys basketball team members Carter Steve and Julius Teabout with scholar athlete patches.