State Sen. Pam Helming, R-54th District, will celebrate 14 high school students from the Wayne-Finger Lakes region who will receive the New York State Senate Youth Leadership Award during a ceremony from 3:30 to 5 p.m. on June 1 at Macedon Town Hall, 32 W. Main St.
These awards honor outstanding student leadership and achievement in academics, athletics, arts and community service. Teachers, administrators, counselors and other faculty nominate students who excel in the classroom as well as in extracurricular and volunteer activities.
This year’s winners are Lauren Dupre and Jenna Nila, of Auburn High School; Rolando Huertas II, of Geneva High School; Natalie Acquista, of Newark High School; Shealyn Shattuck, of North Rose-Wolcott High School; Kathryn Smith, of Red Creek High School; Amari Grady, Daniel Mares and Jahmar Malloy, of Sodus Junior-Senior High School; Braeden Bierwiler, of South Seneca High School; and Douglas Bates, Aubrey O’Brien and Ashley Ross, of Waterloo High School.
“Our region is home to many outstanding young leaders who are deeply involved in their communities and serve as role models to their peers,” Helming said. “The Youth Leadership Awards are a great way to recognize these students for their many accomplishments.
“The young people nominated for this prestigious award possess exceptional leadership qualities and the determination to make a difference in the future success of our communities. I am particularly encouraged by the talent, academic excellence and outstanding community service of so many young adults in the Wayne-Finger Lakes region. We should all be extremely proud of their hard work and the ways in which they positively influence the lives of those within our community and throughout the state.
“We look forward to honoring all 14 of these extraordinary students, as well as thanking their families, teachers and schools for having such a terrific impact on their lives.”