Rochester Broadway Theatre League will join professional theater organizations across the country for the 10th annual presentation of The Jimmy Awards on June 25 at the Minskoff Theatre in New York City.
The National High School Musical Theater Awards, founded and produced by Nederlander Presentations Inc. and Pittsburgh CLO, is a national celebration of outstanding student achievement that recognizes individual artistry in vocal, dance and acting performances by high school students. The Jimmy Award is named in honor of James Nederlander, Broadway theater owner and producer.
To participate in NHSMTA, professional theaters must be members of The Broadway League, National Alliance of Musical Theater or Theatre Communications Group. Each organization agrees to sponsor two student representatives, namely local winners in the leading actor and leading actress categories.
Thirty-four student winners from RBTL’s 20th annual Stars of Tomorrow ceremony competed for the chance to represent Rochester at NHSMTA: Enoch Martin, of Albion High School; Catherine Kennedy, of Allendale Columbia School; Nick Novellin, of Aquinas Institute; Makenna Hughes, of Avon Central High School; Shelby Ennis, Emily Sylvester and Donald Woodard, of Churchville-Chili Senior High School; Savannah Devlin, of Eastridge High School; Evan Bala, of Gates Chili High School; Madison Scoville, of Geneseo Central High School; Mark Mitrano, of Greece Athena High School; Allison Evans and Seth Waldron, of Livonia High School; Christian Hahn, Qasim Huzair, Cora Payne and Layna Viloria, of Lyndonville and Medina Central Schools; Aubrey Bagley and Jacob Nemitz, of Marcus Whitman Central School District; Reese Holahan, of Marion Central School; Spencer Bonawitz, of Midlakes High School; Damon Fletcher, of Mynderse Academy; Noah Detar, of Penn Yan High School; Jack Bausch, Natalie Leclair and Catherine Rizk, of Pittsford Sutherland High School; Jack D’Angelo, of Warsaw Middle/High School; Brianna Gerhart, Maddy Greenly, Dominic Lombardo, Payton Loveless and Megyn Sperry, of Wayne Central High School; Madeline Jewell, of Wheatland-Chili High School; and Avery Carlson, of Williamson Senior High School.
The panel of judges included Nicolette Hart, a Penfield native who tours and performs with Bette Midler; Don Kot, resident music director and affiliate artist at Geva Theatre Center; and Christopher Gurr, who starred in last season’s Broadway revival of “Cats.”
Each student prepared three vocal selections to perform in up to three rounds of cuts. Natalie Leclair, of Pittsford Sutherland High School, and Mark Mitrano, of Greece Athena High School, will represent Rochester at NHSMTA.
A panel of experts will select two grand-prize winners after five days of musical theater rehearsals, master classes, private coaching and interviews with theater professionals. Based on their skill level and professional goals, students are eligible for college scholarships, professional internships, career coaching and opportunities for auditions.
Email or visit or for information.