Students at North Rose-Wolcott Central School District were recognized for athletic achievements of the 2017-18 school year during a recent awards ceremony at the high school.
Each coach took the stage to share the highlights of their sporting season, as well as name the most improved and most valuable players and sportsmanship award winners. Nearly half of all sports teams were named scholar athlete teams this year, meaning their collective GPA as a team was higher than 90.
Sportsmanship awards went to Colby Balcom, Brianna Boone, Ian Boone, Trinity Boykin, Zachary Burnett, Madeline Carr, Derick Chavez, Matthew Cole, Benjamin Collins, Haylee Countryman, Gabby Cuykendall, Daisia Delpha, Zachary DeRoo, Emma Durham, Kelsie Fischette, Zachary Gokey, EmmaGrace Humbert, Sara Jenks, Brady Jones, Kennedy Jones, Grace King, Karissa Lake, Kassidi Lake, Taylor LaValley, Aundrea Lewis, Taylor Malchoff, Liam Martin, Angelica Masters, Hannah Mathes, Peter Mattice, Christopher Mayo, Timothy Mayo, Sierra Perkins, Chynna Plantz, Helainah Richardson, Sophie Roberts, Emmaleigh Rose, Jackson Sehm, Paige Shipley, Frances Sinclair, Daniel Smith, Gabriel Teeple and Morgan VanFleet.
The Robert Bradbury Award is sponsored by Lions and Rotary clubs in honor of Bradbury, who has served North Rose-Wolcott for more than 51 years, 36 of those in the field of physical education and athletics. The award annually goes to a senior who participated in athletics for their entire high school career, lettered in three varsity sports, attended all games and practices unless otherwise excused and demonstrated characteristics of sportsmanship, integrity and teamwork. This year’s award went to Triniti Boykin.
The Mrs. Patricia A. and Mr. Pat Winter Sportsmanship Award went to two students this year: Madeline Carr and Taylor LaValley. These students demonstrated good sportsmanship at all times, played to the best of their ability and were a credit to their team, school and community.
The Kathy Hoyt Award went to Gage Leous for showing dedication, leadership, sportsmanship, fairness, community service, athletic and academic achievement and a constant effort. The recipient is selected by the underclassmen of varsity club members.
The Ted Woods Award annually goes to an adult in the community who shows interest, provides support and works hard for the student-athletes at North Rose-Wolcott. This year’s honor went to Joe Barravecchio.
This year’s Triple C Club winners are Brianna Boone, Triniti Boykin, Taylor LaValley, Gage Leous, Linsey Madison and Jacob Tuper.
North Rose-Wolcott recognized 48 students as tri-athletes this year: Bay Batzold, Cove Batzold, Brianna Boone, Ian Boone, Triniti Boykin, Autumn Cole, Mariah Craine, Mercedes Crum, Shelby Cuturia, Isabella DeFeo, Emma Durham, Gordon Howie, AnnaMae Humbert, Alexes Hunt, Kyle Kasper, Kassidi Lake, Taylor LaValley, Connor Leous, Gage Leous, Aundrea Lewis, Caleb Lewis, Lannon Loveless, Linsey Madison, Connor Majkszak, Taylor Malchoff, Brandon Manley, Elizabeth Manley, Hannah Mathes, Peter Mattice, Cameron McCann, Jacob Minier, Reece Morris, Christopher Mourey, Caleb Murray, Abby Nelson, Eva Norris, Quinton Norris, Chynna Plantz, Joseph Reed, William Reed, Kalen Roberts, Jenna Roelle, Persian Singh, Nikos Soklaropoulos, Jacob Tuper, Kendra Tuper, Brianna Vezzose and Gabrielle Welsh.