Newark student receives educational award

Newark High School senior Benjamin Allegretti is the 2018 recipient of the Elmer J. Cunningham Educational Award.

Allegretti, of Newark, is the son of Mark and Diane Allegretti. He will major in mechanical engineering at Rochester Institute of Technology in the fall.

The award is a trust fund created by the will of the late Clara Cunningham in memory of her brother, Elmer, who was the first principal of Lincoln School. He served in that capacity for more than 25 years.

In accordance with the terms of the will, a scholarship award is made annually to the “member of the senior class who, being a graduate of Lincoln Grammar School, has the highest scholastic average for his or her high school work and is accepted at a college or school where he or she will continue his or her formal education.’’


Wayne-Finger Lakes students receive scholarship awards

State Sen. Pam Helming, R-54th District, recently recognized 11 high school students from the Wayne-Finger Lakes region who received Professional Women of the Finger Lakes Scholarship awards during a ceremony at Canandaigua Yacht Club.

The organization awarded a total of $5,000 to outstanding young women who demonstrated academic excellence through community service and dedication to furthering themselves by enrolling in higher education.

Helming presented Gold Scholarship certificates to Melina Brunelli, Gracie Nicol, Maggie O'Brien, Alicia Quarterman, Nikolle Van Stralen and Lindsey Weykman; Silver Scholarship certificates to Karli Fosco, Kiara Kolaczyk, Claire Radak and Genevieve Gray; and the Sue Adkins Memorial Art Scholarship Award to Jubilee Newton.


Reliant awards over $16K in scholarships to local students

Reliant Community Credit Union awarded a total of $16,750 to 15 area students through its 2018 Donald K. Rhine Scholarship program.

The scholarship program is open to Reliant members who will attend an accredited two- or four-year college full time in the fall. It goes to students who exemplify the credit union’s “people helping people” philosophy.

This year’s recipients are Emerson Bolha, of Auburn; Matthew Moreau, of Bloomfield; Ella Charlesworth, of Brighton; Alyssa VanAuker, Canandaigua; Sophie Zacharek, of Kirkville; Elizabeth Schneider, of Lyons; Gregory Bremer and Sydney Salone, of Newark; Constance Glover, of Penn Yan; Katherine Flanigen, of Pittsford; Dakota Hinchman, of Sodus; Amy Tichacek, of Walworth; Bridget Deveney, of West Irondequoit; Bailey DiSanto, of Williamson; and Triniti Boykin, of Wolcott.

Reliant awarded $176,000 to members through its Donald K. Rhine Scholarship since 1998.