Six winter teams at Newark High School qualified for scholar athlete team status for 2018-19.
This recognition from the New York State Public High School Athletic Association goes to varsity athletic teams that collectively achieve averages of 90 or better.
“We are proud of our student-athletes who excel in the classroom,”said Chris Corey, director of health, physical education and athletics for Newark Central School District. “Being recognized by NYSPHSAA as a scholar-athlete team is a goal for all of our teams and we are honored to have several of our teams receive the recognition. Congratulations to our student-athletes, coaches and teams, and thank you for being great teammates in the playing arena and in the classroom.”
The following varsity teams received scholar athletes status, and are listed by coach, average and team members.
Girls indoor track: Joseph Kopnitsky; 93.323; Veronica Cervantes-Hermenegildo, Kailyn Crawford, Aaliyah Johnson, Olyvia Kiley, Cordelia Lalone, Leah Lockwood, Viktoria Main, Hannah Mantz, Emma Robbins, Kayleigh Schermerhorn, Lauren Smith, Alexandra Ventura, Trinity Wells and Kayla Williams.
Boys swimming: Aaron Sweet; 91.594; Eric Blodgett, Brendan Briggs, Joseph Camblin, Liam Childs, Elliot Dahl, Jace Frederickson, Broden Haltiner, Jaiden Hernandez, Timothy Huber, Steven Hughes, Jordan Hughson, John Murphy Jr., Connor O’Brien, Michael Oberdorf, Gerald Offen, Talyn Pierce, Zachary Rodrick, Philip Ross and John Szulis.
Girls basketball: Justin Fladd; 92.121; Kalyna Bryan, Jasmine Bueso, Clare Camblin, Caitlin Chopan, Alycia Divelbliss, Hannah Fisher and Grace Gajan.
Newark CSD is recognizing the following junior varsity scholar athlete teams, as listed by coach, average and team members.
Girls basketball: William Kirnie; 91.986; Michaela Colacino, Chariah Cunningham, Zoe Fisher, Caroline McGavisk, Gabrielle McGavisk, Kaleigh Pettit, Jamarya Walker and Victoria Ward.
Boys wrestling: Robert Binggeli, 91.93; Adam Card and Adam Hernandez.
Boys basketball: Robert Havrilla; 90.620; Stevie Brown, Addison Bump, Gabriel Caraballo, Zachary Herd, Raeshawn Howard, Adam Lombardi, Travontay Murray, Aaron Rodney-Spencer, Carter Steve and Julius Teabout.
Individual state scholar athlete pins went to the following students for achieving individual averages of 90 or better.
Boys basketball, varsity: Kyle French, Kyle Martinez and Mason VanDeMortel.
Boys bowling, varsity: Everett Cole and Grayson Cole.
Boys indoor track, varsity: Chad French, Caleb George-Cady, Collin Gilligan and Jayce Smith.
Boys wrestling, varsity: Dillan Hernandez, Colin Steiner and Jackson Vermeulen.
Girls bowling, varsity: Natalie Kent, Emily Lang and Rebecca Spry.
Girls competitive winter cheerleading: Morgan Davis and Morgan Kesecker.