The Rochester Broadway Theatre League will join professional theater organizations from across the country for the 11th annual presentation of The Jimmy Awards on June 24 at the Minskoff Theatre on Broadway in New York City.
The National High School Musical Theater Awards is a national celebration of outstanding student achievement that recognizes individual artistry in vocal, dance and acting performances by high school students. The Jimmy Award is named in honor of James Nederlander, Broadway theater owner and producer.
To participate in NHSMTA, professional theaters must be members of The Broadway League, National Alliance of Musical Theater or Theatre Communications Group. Each organization agrees to sponsor two student representatives, namely local winners in the leading actor and leading actress categories.
Forty-three students competed for the chance to represent Rochester at NHSMTA during RBTL’s 21st annual Stars of Tomorrow ceremony in May: Nate Grammatico and Enoch Martin (Albion High School); Jacqui Thompson (Aquinas Institute); Josh Boily, Domenique D’Amico and Jessica D’Amico (Athena High School); Rebecca Frail (Avon Central School District); Kendra Ellison and Jacob Stitely (Campbell-Savona Central School); Christopher Bunk (Churchville-Chili Senior High School); Jake Alvares, Savannah Devlin and Mia Hall (Eastridge High School); Kaylie Barbosa (Gananda High School); Matthew Capel and Liliana Loughin (Geneseo Central School); Xachary Carr and Hailey Grasso (Le Roy Jr.-Sr. High School); Allison Evans (Livonia High School); Aubrey Bagley and Memphis Lohnes (Marcus Whitman Central School District); Michael Hamill (Marion Central School); Holden Dorr (Midlakes High School); Damon Fletcher and Madison Yearsley (Mynderse Academy); Aidan Eddy, Sofia Fragnito and Sarah Valincourt (Odyssey Academy); Genna Elliott and Noah Detar (Penn Yan Academy); Isa Antonetti, Shannon Beel and Benjamin Mury (Pittsford Mendon High School); Natalie Leclair (Pittsford Sutherland High School); Brianna Houser and Daniel Mares (Sodus Jr./Sr. High School); Cole Parker (Victor High School); Jack D’Angelo, Trinity Fanaro and Jarrett Heubusch (Warsaw Central Middle/High School); and Dominic Lombardo, Kenzie Shoemaker and Paige Steffen (Wayne Central High School).
The panel of judges included actor John Bolton; Don Kot, resident music director and affiliate artist at Geva Theatre Center; and actress Jessica Vosk.
Each student prepared three vocal selections to perform in up to three rounds of cuts. Jack D’Angelo (Warsaw) and Mia Hall (Eastridge) will represent Rochester at NHSMTA.
At NHSMTA, two grand-prize winners will be selected by a panel of experts after five days of musical theater rehearsals, master classes, private coaching and interviews with theater professionals. Based on their skill level and professional goals, students are eligible for college scholarships, professional internships, career coaching and opportunities for auditions.
Visit for information.